Adam Schenk was assessed a two-stroke penalty for a rules violation that occurred in the second round of the Honda Classic when his caddie stood behind him once he was in his stance on the 17th hole.
The penalty announced Saturday afternoon changes the bogey Schenk recorded on the par-3 17th on Friday to a triple-bogey.
Schenk finished the second round 1-over 71 with four birdies and two other bogeys on the fifth and sixth holes.
The PGA Tour released a statement Saturday announcing the decision and explaining of why Schenk was penalized for violating Rule 10.2b.
“The penalty occurred as a result of Adam’s caddie standing behind him once he took his stance, but not taking any action subsequently that would absolve him of penalty, for example backing out of his stance,” the statement read in part.
Schenk was tied for eighth place through four holes in the third round when the penalty was announced.
The PGA’s full statement on Schenk’s violation can be read below:
— PGA TOUR Communications (@PGATOURComms) March 2, 2019
Golf’s new rules, which include the one Schenk and his caddie were judged to have violated, have been criticized by fans and players since they went into effect Jan. 1.
Justin Thomas, who finished the third round at the Honda Classic 3-under 67, came to Schenk’s defense on Twitter shortly after the infraction was announced Saturday.
In January Haotong Li became the first player penalized under the new rule regarding caddies and alignment. He was hit with a two-shot penalty at the Dubai Desert Classic when his caddie was ruled to have been standing behind him while Li was putting on the 18th green in the final round. European Tour chief Keith Pelley called the rule “grossly unfair” at the time.
One of the most well-known challengers to the new rules is Rickie Fowler, who was penalized one stroke for violating the knee-high drop rule during last week’s WGC-Mexico Championship.
A photo was taken of Fowler mocking the rule Thursday at the Honda Classic as he squat down, held the golf ball behind his back and joking asked an official if he was following the new rule correctly.
— Ryan John Kennedy (@kennedyryanj) February 28, 2019
Source: USA TODAY Sports